Artist Research: Estelle Dougier

Dougier-6Dougier-4

I found these photos under the tag of nostalgia and thought it related to what I want to do with my idea. What Estelle did in her photos was capture things that reminded her of her childhood. Childhood, being on of her key themes of course will trigger the emotion of nostalgia and reminiscing. In an interview with Estelle she was asked, “what is the message, the emotion you want to convey through your photos?” and she replied “I love that people feel the poetry and nostalgia, there is no message, this is more than emotion” I suppose she is really trying to get people to feel when they look at her photos. I for one love her photos and how it gives a reminder of the past and things that used to be new and memories that were actually things that were happening right in that moment. Her photography makes me feel sad and kind of depressed because I feel like her work is captured in a sad way like things have been forgotten and nothing can be changed. This influences me for what I’m going for because I want to focus on my grandmothers house due to the fact it’s where I have a lot of memories from my childhood, a place where I can easily capture the feeling of nostalgia.

Leave a comment