Artist Research: Irina Werning

irina-werning-back-to-the-future20_be1-web

In one of our contextual sessions with mark we were showed an artist called Irina Werning who does a collection of photos called “Back To The Future” I think this links to my theme of nostalgia very well. It’s a way to re-create the past and bring back what has happened and the feeling/memory that the photo gives. What I like about these pictures is the detail and humour that these photos have. I think Irina does such a good job with al her photos on how she captures the photo in the exact same way and truly does recreate the past. I suppose this inspires my work because I want to shoot some things on film but also have that, once again, nostalgia feel. This inspires me to go forward with my photos and hopefully create the feeling of the past with present photos. Irina gives me hope that I can do this because of how successfully she does it with hers.

Leave a comment